Three Day Reflection — OOPS!

MONDAY—

I’d say we reflected in class…What about you?

TUESDAY—

I apologize to those concerned about my not posting yesterday!  We had our Kindergarten county-wide grade level meeting in Yadkinville at 3:00 yesterday afternoon followed by FTO (Family/Teacher Organization) meeting back at East Bend at 6:30 last night.  By the time I got home, I went straight to bed (and may or may not have pressed snooze three times this morning).  Anyway, yesterday I implemented the “Learning About Drawing Stories from Each Other” lesson from the Horn and Giacobble text.  I focused on the following questions: 1)What do I need to add so readers will understand my story? And 2)What do I need to change so readers will understand my story.  We discussed one of my students pictures that she had begun the previous day (Monday).  I asked the students if they knew what her story was about just by looking at her picture (without her “telling” the story).  Students proceeded to volunteer ideas about her story and make predictions.  After their predictions were made, I allowed the student to tell her story.  We concluded that some of our ideas were accurate while some of them were not.  At this time the students volunteered suggestions for this “author.”  The students were encouraged to share ideas that involved ADDING and CHANGING details within the picture so the reader would understand her story better.  I said, “Now that we know this authors story, what do you think she could add or change so that we could take it next door to Mrs. Fletcher’s class and ask her kindergarteners (who have NO IDEA what this story is about) what their predictions are about this particular story…?”  The students were shooting off awesome ideas for the student presenting her work.  They were brainstorming details without knowing they were doing so.  Both last year (first year teaching) and this year (so far) I have pounded my students (too much) about adding details.  They  never really understood what I meant by “adding details” (and I obviously did not either)!  This activity, however really clicked for them AND FOR ME!  The students came to the realization that writing is as much for them as it is their audience.  They want their audience to understand their store without it having to be dictated).  When it was time for the students to go to their seat I went back to the questions: 1)What do I need to add so readers will understand my story? And 2)What do I need to change so readers will understand my story.  The students were eager to get back to their seats to revisit their work they had begun the previous day to add details to make their writing (or in this case, pictures) more comprehensible for their future audience.  During sharing I picked some journals at random to share.  (Before sharing I asked the student if it would be okay for me to share their picture with their classmates).  The students made predictions about the stores and shared their ideas about what they thought their friends stories were about.  After the ideas and predictions were shared the “author” told the “real” story.  Each story showed newly added and changed details to make the experience more vivid for the audience involved!

And for the rest of the day they wanted to share their stories with Mrs. Fletcher’s class to see if they could “guess” what their stories were about!  Too cute! J I may need to set that up in the near future…….

TODAY—

Today I conducted our first drawing lesson.  Before beginning I told the students I was really nervous today.  I acted very shy and timid.  The kids were SO concerned.   They were made comments like “don’t be nervous Ms. Hobson!!!” “What’s wrong?!?!”  I said, “well, you guys, I want to help you learn how to be the best illustrator you can be today, BUT I am really not that great of an illustrator myself!”  I then went on to explain that it’s okay if you aren’t good at something and that we are all good at different things…but that if you don’t TRY you’ll never know if you’re good at something or not…and there is always room to improve!  I explained that today I would be drawing someone’s face (my assistant was at a doctors appointment and I don’t have a high school intern, so I knew my “model” would have to be a student…A STUDENT WHO COULD SIT STILL!!!). I picked a boy who had been on his best behavior all day and he was so excited.  I allowed the students to tell me where I should begin and of course they said his head.  They told me to draw a circle…so I did.  Then I said “hmmm…but this student’s head doesn’t look like what’s on my paper…do you have any suggestions about how I could fix this?”  One student said I should make it an OVAL.  I said “Ohhhhh you’re right, his face is definitely shaped more like an oval than a circle.”  I then showed them how it is perfectly fine to make a mistake and that I can go back and erase (that’s why we use pencils *DING, DING, DING*).  We went through the motions drawing his eyes (all the different parts), eyelashes, eyebrows, nose, mouth, chin, ears and hair.  Finally after lots of student guidance and erasing, I felt like I had drawn my model to the best of my ability.  I then explained to the students that they were going to draw the same portrait that I had drawn.  I told them they would be drawing their model on the next page of their drawing and writing notebooks and that they could work on the carpet today so they could easily reference their model and my portrait I had created with their help.  Once they received their pencils and sketchbooks they were off to work!  They all worked so hard and probably used every eraser in my classroom to perfect their pictures.  I was so impressed with their final sketches.  I had lots of fun with this and I think the kids do to.  Whereas I was once nervous about drawing (or teaching drawing, I should say), I now feel great about it and also feel very “supported” by my 21 sweet kinders! 🙂

 

 

 

*******See pictures of a couple drawings in the post below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

